My Thoughts On… Rihanna.

So I just finished that Rihanna interview with Oprah that everyone’s been talking about and I have to say, I appreciate her sincerity and honesty in talking about subjects that can be pretty difficult to discuss with your mom or sister, let alone the world.  Of course, I’m referencing the insanely hyped part  of the interview where she talked about who else… Chris Brown. NOW, in my personal opinion, appalling incident aside, homeboy is not all that. He can dance and make good music but watching him in interviews is truly comparable to watching a caveman. I don’t get the appeal at all.

Anyway, she basically confessed that she still loves Chris Brown and that for her, since he was her first love, she’ll never be able to shut that love off, despite the immense pain he caused her. She admitted that she has forgiven him, they still talk, and are pretty close friends these days (note to CB”s current girlfriend: ouch :() It sounds crazy to think that you can love someone who’s treated you the way he treated her right? I mean we all remember the picture, the stories, all of it. But watching her cry, saying she misses him and will always love him got me thinking about love in general. Isn’t it fascinating that the one thing in the world that is supposed to be so pure and so beautiful can make us completely blind to all of the wrong things? She is such a gorgeous, talented individual. I wonder if she sees that. After watching this interview, I don’t believe she does. If she did, she wouldn’t welcome him back into her life as seemingly openly as she has. It also disturbed me to hear that she was more concerned with protecting him after the incident instead of worrying about her own well-being. But, that is just my personal opinion.

I do believe there will always be people in your life that stay with you and who, despite everything, you might still love. I know because I’ve felt it. But I also believe many of us, including me, look through rose-colored glasses when it comes to looking at the past. Rihanna called Chris her one true love. But can you really call the person who embarrassed and humiliated you in front of the world your one true love?  It’s tough to say.

I don’t know if I have any readers on here but I would love to know what you think. Do you think Rihanna was wrong to admit that she still loves him? Or do you think people can genuinely change and that once you love, you can’t turn it off?

Leave a Reply

