Couple Crush?

So, I was perusing my absolute favorite website – nymag.com – when I stumbled upon a really fascinating story by Lisa Miller about famous Hollywood power couples that our culture has gone on to idolize, some still together, some long broken up.  It brought up a really interesting point about why we perhaps idolize these couples, calling it a “couple crush”. Her reasoning for the crush is that we look up to these couples because we are in love with the fantasy of the perfect couple that we see in them. That we look up to them while analyzing all of the problems in our own relationships. She also went on to say that in real life, many people have these kind of “crushes” on other real life couples, because they believe they have stronger relationships than their own and wish theirs could be more like them.

Now, I know that every couple has issues, no one is perfect. In fact, I was just talking to someone today about the fact that every single relationship is work and if you are committed to making it work it will stand a greater chance at lasting, but no relationship is seamless all the time. I don’t think “couple crushes” are worth having because at the end of the day, you don’t know what goes on behind closed doors and you need to focus on what makes your relationship work and what you love about that other person.

Buuuuut, if I had to absolutely pick my “couple crush” it would be:

Yes, I know this is OLD, but they were the couple I definitely had the biggest crush on when I was growing up! They were too perfect, too beautiful, and too good to be true apparently, cause they didn’t last but oh well. Brit Brit and Justin are definitely one of top favorite pairings of all time. Iconic!

2 thoughts on “Couple Crush?

  1. I really liked this as it is so incredibly true, people do idolise both celebrity couples and the couples they know. I guess sometimes it is hard not to idolise relationships but, as you said, no one knows what goes on behind closed doors. I mean if you fight and go to meet friends you’re not still going to be snapping at each other over your pints and I think this relates even more to celebrity couples, they are essentially idolised for a few pictures and their happy posts about each other on twitter!

  2. Right? People absolutely do it. It’s so true about celebrities! We think we know them because of the pictures, the tweets and what we read when we actually don’t know them at all. Interesting stuff

Leave a Reply

