Museums are Underrated

Very recently my sister and I decided to do something I personally haven’t done in years and something I know she hasn’t done since she’s been in school…. go to a museum! And let me tell you, we had an absolute blast. One thing I really do treasure about living so close to NYC is all of the fabulous places I can go to and some of the incredible museums are a big part of of that. We went down the whole list but decided on The Met. If you haven’t been to the Metropolitan Museum of Art I suggest you go!! It’s not just art, and trust me they have some of the greats (Van Gogh, Monet), it’s a cultural and historical experience.

If you know me, you’ll know I am a complete history nerd and really can’t get enough of it. I have such a passion for it and really do believe in the importance of learning about our past in order to be able to know that much more about the world we live in today. One of my favorite parts of the museum is the Ancient Egyptian section. Of all of the different eras of history, I have a few top favorites… Ancient Egyptian, American Civil War era, French Revolution era, Ancient Roman and Greek and Renaissance. But I really dork out over anything with Ancient Egypt. And the Met really has it all. My sister and I were like kids in a candy store! Here are some of my favorite things I saw that day as a whole:

There were many many more but suffice it to say I had such a great day and learned a lot. I really find it so incredible to think that all of those things were created by/used by people once, however many years ago. It just really makes the world and time feel so much more vast. What the last good trip to a museum YOU had? Museums are so much fun and definitely shouldn’t just be reserved for school trips.

Leave a Reply

